Your Kid’s Not Going Pro

A Youth Sports Blog

Dear hockey coach: I hate you. Love, the Zamboni Driver

leave a comment »

grumpy Zamboni driver ahead

Warning: grumpy Zamboni driver ahead

From a guy calling himself the Boston Sports History Examiner, looking at his career as a Zamboni driver in the rear-view mirror, if Zambonis have those:

I found out quickly that youth hockey coaches can be the most arrogant in all of youth sports. It seemed that they were always in the stands by the boards screaming at me. I ignored them. …

One thing that Peter told me and that I took full advantage of was that when he wasn’t there I was the boss. He told me not to take any guff from anybody. He also told me how to exert my power as the Zamboni man. I took advantage of my power only once. A particularly nasty and arrogant peewee hockey coach really ticked me off. The next time his team played while I was working, the Zamboni mysteriously broke down just before his team was to play. No new ice and a well deserved break for me. The moral of the story is that the Zamboni driver rules the rink!

If I see this guy working the grounds crew when I’m managing my son’s T-ball team this spring, I’ll be nice to him, lest he decides on a soggy day that we’ve mysteriously run out of Rapid Dry.

Written by rkcookjr

January 1, 2009 at 9:12 pm

Leave a Reply

