Your Kid’s Not Going Pro

A Youth Sports Blog

A book your child might actually read

with 6 comments

laststraw_400The new “Diary of a Wimpy Kid” book, “The Last Straw,” is out. If you don’t understand why I found it front and center as I walked into the Borders on State Street in Chicago this morning, then you probably don’t have a child about junior high age. For the uninitiated, “Diary of a Wimpy Kid” tells the continuing story of Greg Heffley, a self-described “good at nothing” sixth-grader who has to fend off, well, all the things a sixth-grader has to fend off. The book is written like a journal, with lined paper and comic asides. The author, Jeff Kinney, wrote this first in blog form, in his spare time from creating sites such as the tween-and-teen online roleplaying game Poptropica. Unlike Greg Heffley, Jeff Kinney is good at something.

One of Greg’s nagging problems is his father, Frank, who is constantly pushing him to join sports, mostly swimming and, in this new book, soccer. It’s said 75 percent (or whatever number people pull out of their asses) of kids quit sports by age 13 is because it isn’t fun, mostly because of yelling coaches and overbearing parents. Looking at it from Greg’s point of view, they quit because they never felt like being out there in the first place.

I’m not trying to be deep. The books are funny. And it should not come as news to anyone that you cannot dissuade your child from playing video games, wearing his mother’s bathrobe or killing time with his dim-witted friend just by frog-marching him onto a field. Or frog-marching him into any other activity, for that matter.

UPDATE: Four hours after the original post, and two-and-a-half hours after I handed him the book, my 11-year-old finished it. He reports that Greg’s father, frustrated by his son’s lack of interest and ability in sports (like he did in T-ball, Greg spends his time as a soccer goalie picking at dandelions), decides he wants to send him to military school. Hilarity ensues.

6 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. good book

    cvxc

    November 11, 2009 at 7:44 pm

  2. Love this book!

    Mac and cheese

    December 8, 2009 at 7:24 am

  3. awesome book!!!!

    person you don't know

    December 16, 2009 at 8:23 pm

  4. I love all of the Diary of a Wimpy Kid books and I think this one might be the best.Right now I am reading “Rodrick Rules”. All I can say(type)is GOOD JOB JEFF KINNEY AND I HOPE YOU MAKE MORE DIARY OF A WIMPY KID BOOKS!!!!!!!!

    I love Diary of a Wimpy Kid Girl

    December 30, 2009 at 7:28 pm

  5. I love Jeff Kinney’s Books.They Rock(and so does Jeff).It all started when my brother got the 1st one from my gramma and he read like 5 pages,and I decided I should start reading it and…..I loved it!!!!So that is how I got started on Diary of a Wimpy Kid.

    LOVE BUG!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    December 30, 2009 at 7:32 pm

  6. oh my god i relly love diary of a wimpy kid the last straw

    Ninja

    March 26, 2010 at 8:48 pm


Leave a Reply

