Your Kid’s Not Going Pro

A Youth Sports Blog

I got stripes, stripes around my shoulders…

with 3 comments

…and them parents, them parents, they’re ’bout to drag me dowwwwwwwwwnnnnnn.

Someone who knew a little something about the perils of the striped shirt.

Nate Ulrich, sports columnist for the (Munster, Ind.) Times, learned why the Indiana High School Athletic Association and just about everyone who needs officials have trouble finding them — because you spend a lot of time and pay a lot of money for a gig that offers crap pay and crap from everyone else around you.

He spent two hours at a recruiting fair, four hours studying for his certification exam, two hours taking it, and one hour buying his uniform, activities that took place over the course of more than two months between his appearance at the fair and his hiring for his first games. He spent $227.90, $182.90 of it for the official zebra wear and whistle. The pay for Ulrich’s first assignment, back-to-back sixth-grade AAU girls basketball — $40.

Before his first game, Ulrich’s partner for the games told him two things. One, don’t sell out your partner, no matter how bad the call was, because that person “is your only friend in the gym.” Two, that junior-high parents are “evil. … At that junior high level, weird things happen.”

Ulrich, by his own admission, failed to hear a time-out call from one bench during the first game, and heard about it from that coach and score keeper during the game, and heard about it from the manager of the facility hosting the game, who had heard more from the coach and score keeper. Fun!

The second game was better, except that Ulrich’s ref partner told him he had to be more assertive. “A lot of times you were blowing your whistle like a little girl.”

Of course, you expect in any new job you’re going to screw up or be hesitant. Although Ulrich could have signed on to be a nuclear plant manager and gotten more margin for error from his colleagues.

Ulrich’s conclusion:

During my drive home that night, I contemplated whether I’d ever work another game. I don’t think I will.

I made $40 for two hours of work. I was sweaty and exhausted, so it was definitely a good workout. And I was fortunate to work with an understanding [partner] … .

The bottom line is I just didn’t enjoy it.

I am glad I mustered the guts to try officiating, though. I saw the game from a new perspective, and I attained a newfound level of appreciation and respect for the men and women who have been doing it for years.

If you think can you do a better job … I encourage you to go through the process I did and see for yourself.

No, better yet — I dare you.

Ulrich more than 250 people went to the recruiting fair, so apparently many are daring. In these times, $40 is $40, and six gigs like that will at least pay for the test and the uniform.

Written by rkcookjr

May 3, 2009 at 5:42 pm

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I’d have to agree with the statement that “junior high parents are evil.” Crazy stuff does happen. I did four years as a volleyball coach for my daughter’s school team from her 5th grade to 8th. My personal favorite was chair throwing, although cheating by coaches and parents who were asked to be line judges comes in a close second. That’s pretty tame compared to the school’s softball coach, who had to move his kids into the outfield while police apprehended a parent who had gone nuts at a game and whose very presence violated a previously filed restraining order.

    Jeff

    May 6, 2009 at 1:27 am

  2. I keep hearing about this exciting stuff going on during games, and I rarely see it. I’ve got to get my kids into different leagues.

    I hope not all junior high parents are evil. That’s because next year I’ll be one of ’em.

    rkcookjr

    May 6, 2009 at 10:09 am

  3. Not all are evil, but there are a few who really make their presence known. Most games are without incident but there are a few that really stand out.

    I should mention that the leagues I mentioned for volleyball and softball were in a Catholic School league that made all parents and coaches attend Positive Coaching Alliance classes.

    Jeff

    May 6, 2009 at 11:35 am


Leave a Reply

