Your Kid’s Not Going Pro

A Youth Sports Blog

On the road…

leave a comment »

3461021801_aa764ac514

I’m not taking the above to Elkhart, Ind., on my trip this weekend, but I’m sure the locals wish I would. That’s because the above model (a Monarch 30SFS) is made by Monaco, one of many local manufacturers in the RV Capital of the World, a title said ruefully more than proudly in these recessionary times.

I’m going to Elkhart to do a story on recession and youth sports as part of MSNBC.com’s Elkhart Project, a look at what life is like in a place that whipsaws from 5 percent to 18 percent unemployment in a year. The story I’m doing is more of a national look, but Elkhart is as good a place as any to see what’s going on.

Already I’ve done a fair bit of reporting, though I won’t share with you yet what I’ve found. I’ll save that for the people who are paying me. However, I can say that everyone I’ve dealt with in Elkhart so far has been nothing but gracious and helpful. And like the rest of the country, the people are trying to do everything they can to make sure these hard times don’t hit their kids too hard.

As an aside, I would not be shocked if my hotel in Elkhart contains guests who are coming to graduation at nearby Notre Dame — guests who are attending it, and guests who are protesting President Barack Obama speaking at it.

Written by rkcookjr

May 14, 2009 at 11:39 pm

Leave a Reply

