Your Kid’s Not Going Pro

A Youth Sports Blog

My father, R.I.P.

with 11 comments

n1152725890_201829_2511

Pictured above is Ken Cook, my father. As I type this, I am getting ready to make another trip back to Carmel, Ind., because I am told the pancreatic cancer he was diagnosed with last October is going to claim him very, very soon at the age of 66.

A long time ago, a friend and I talked about whether we eventually are doomed (our word) to become our fathers, a conversation that was a bit of debate about genetic vs. environment because I’m adopted. All I can say is, every time I take coffee to the bathroom, I am Ken Cook.

But this being a youth sports site, and your probably not wanting to know about my bathroom habits (or my father’s), I can certainly share how he influenced my own sporting life as a child, and how he still influences it as an adult.

Of course, he always was good about playing catch with my brother and I, or playing quarterback while he and I ran routes against each other. One big advantage in having my father as a dad was that as a child he was forced to stop being left-handed, that being the rage when he was a child. So when he played catch with me, he could put on my brother’s right-handed glove. When he played catch with my brother, he could wear my left-handed glove.

I can tell you that my dad certainly would agree with the idea about Your Kid Not Going Pro, because he never had such aspirations for us, even when as a 6-year-old I was leaving older kids in the dust in long-distance races up and down my block. School always was first, and steering us toward a steady career was what he had in mind.

If he was thinking sports first, he wouldn’t have pulled me out of kindergarten in my Owosso, Mich., school and put me in first grade in the local Catholic school as a result of my kindergarten teacher being royally pissed I knew how to read, mainly because I was reading the other kids the notes she was writing to their parents about what brats they were. Thus, I was always two calendar years younger than my peers — the opposite of what you do if you want your kid to go pro.

If he was thinking sports first, he (and my mom — she was no bystander) wouldn’t have yanked me off of my sixth-grade basketball team when I was in my brief, intense budding delinquent phase. So often you hear the argument kids should stay on a team when they’re troubled because it provides structure. My father, colorful with language as he was, would respond: Fuck that shit, dumbass.

If he was thinking sports first, he wouldn’t have yanked my brother and I off our Little League team in North Muskegon, Mich., (we moved around a lot — dad was transferred frequently in his job with the phone company) when I was 10 and my brother was 9. He thought the coach was a jackass, in no small part because — six years after Carolyn King on the other side of the state in Ypsilanti successfully sued to force Little League to drop their no-girls rule — that coach wouldn’t allow girls on his team. My dad was conservative politically, and was not exactly out there campaigning for ratification of the ERA. But he had a strong sense of fairness. His judgment was vindicated when the next year we played on a Little League team, which had a girl on the roster, won our town championship — while the other coach’s team finished last.

If he was thinking sports first, he would have pushed my brother and I to sign up and stay on teams, rather than letting us decide what we wanted to do. If we didn’t speak up, he didn’t sign us up. And when I quit running cross country and track after my sophomore year of high school, his words were something like, “OK.” But he was there for my meets, and those of my brother, who did stick it out all the way through. He wasn’t disinterested, but he wasn’t going to shell out money and time if we didn’t care ourselves.

And in all of that, I feel his influence. I probably push a little more, maybe a result of me coaching so many of my kids’ teams. But I don’t sign up my kids for anything they don’t want to do, and if they don’t want to do it anymore after the season is over, that’s fine by me. And I agree that school comes first, and sports comes way behind that. It’s fun, and it’s great, but… well, the blog title applies to my own kids as well.

My dad, though living three hours away, made it to some of my kids’ games, the last one being one of my 6-year-old son’s bowling league matches. That was after he was diagnosed. I know he was very proud, and he made sure to give my 6-year-old the 15-pound ball he used for years in his own playing days, understanding of course that my son is a bit far away from being able to lift it.

Soon my dad will be gone. But he’ll always be around, as you can see. Now, I’m going to get some coffee.

UPDATE: My father died early this morning in his home. He died peacefully, knowing he had a lot of love and support in his final days.

11 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Its funny the little things you remember when you’re ‘all grown up’ from when you were a kid. I lost my dad last september and it’s all those little things that haunt me daily.
    I miss my dad so much, he was my pal. The one I could go to about anything.
    MountainHigh

    mountainhigh

    May 20, 2009 at 6:50 am

  2. My condolences. My dad passed at age 41 from cancer, when I was 12 years old and just before the opening of the spring baseball season. He was always involved as an assistant coach on our baseball teams so it was especially difficult after that point to play baseball and not see him coaching 3rd base.

    It’s weighed on me this spring (20 years later) as my 5 year old son starts his journey into youth sports with his first ball team.

    It shows the enduring strength of sports as a force in our culture, childhoods and the strings that hold together generations.

    Dennis Murray

    May 20, 2009 at 10:26 pm

  3. Thank you both for your comments, and thanks to everyone who has contacted me. One thing you realize in this situation is how even the little things you do as a father (and as a mother) influence your kids. It’s a little scary.

    rkcookjr

    May 20, 2009 at 11:49 pm

  4. I’m sorry for your loss – you and your family have my condolences. Your comment about how even the little things you do as a parent influences your kids rings so true. I have eight year old twin boys who play hockey and soccer (and are trying out some other sports) and I am really trying hard to find the right balance for them. I really appreciate your blog and your insights. Again, my condolences for your loss.

    Chris Williams

    May 21, 2009 at 9:38 am

  5. Bob:

    I’m sure he would be proud of his legacy.

    Steve

    Steve Griffith

    May 25, 2009 at 12:14 pm

  6. […] My late father was as anti-tax as they come, but he (often grudingly) voted for every tax levy that was offered for schools, in part because his own children would benefit, but mainly because he knew that his property values were tied to the value of the school system. He might not have liked paying more taxes, but in his cost-benefit analysis he figured that was less than the property value hit he would take for a “no” vote. […]

  7. […] response is to quote my late father: If my aunt had balls, she’d be my […]

  8. […] a shame my late father, who died in 2009, isn’t around to see the team he once co-owned, the New England Patriots, […]

  9. […] High grad. His Air Force basic training, as it has been for all enlisted personnel (including my father, in 1960), was at Lackland Air Force Base, a mere stone’s throw from South San Antonio High. […]

  10. […] age Pearlman’s kids are now, it’s very easy to get angry and discouraged. You might say, as my late father often did about the many things that ticked him off, “Screw that noise.” You, as a parent, know […]

  11. […] as distant as being sent out a doorway with a retirement party? Guess again. My late father took buyouts twice from a same association in his early to mid-50s, and he should have felt […]


Leave a Reply

