Your Kid’s Not Going Pro

A Youth Sports Blog

Archive for January 16th, 2009

T’ing him up

leave a comment »

Two events transpired while I was in Florida that allowed me to use the lame pun above for the headline to this brief.

First, I officially was designated manager of my 6-year-old son’s T-ball team this spring. It will be the first time I’ve had a chance to coach him, though his only other sport so far has been bowling. Unfortunately, this means my run as my 9-year-old daughter’s softball manager is on hiatus. She’s never played on a team I haven’t coached. Anyway, I look forward to managing my son’s T-ball team. How could I not? As David Letterman, whose son made his baseball debut last summer, put it, “the most exciting three hours in all of sports is one inning of T-ball.”

Second, I bought a whistle for my 11-year-old son, which means that he gets to ref the after-school basketball games in which he does not play. (Hey, some leagues require even less before letting you put on the zebra shirt.) Just so his peers, and everyone within a 10-mile radius, is sure to hear him, I bought him a Fox 40 whistle.

Written by rkcookjr

January 16, 2009 at 1:17 am